Christmas Tree Angel.

Back in the 90’s  i wanted to make some thing new for my tree.  I found this  poor little crochet angel in the trash and thought  it was neat but  could look better, and had seen better days. So,  with out thinking much i started on this project.

I found the first one i made  a few years ago  sitting around and thought i could do this better if i just tried  so my mission was clear.

With thread i re- worked every thing with out looking back at the pattern i had made. to find  a few differences when i did finally look back well all is well that ends well. turns out it was ok  , and gave me a few thoughts on how i would really like to see this come out.

So far the wings are the hardest part of it. Been a lot of fun and  i have to say the wings turned out just as i wanted them to ;)  i still need to work on the face i fear this part , i don’t want to fail here  so i need to be sure i take the time to do it right and think it threw.

i spent the day yesterday thinking about the dreaded face , while  stitching the wing in place. i could see what i wanted but how to get there?  I thought it would be best to work on the hair next and give the face more time.

Last night i started with worry thinking it’s not going to work. tried 3 ways tell  all the sudden it came to me what  i needed to do  to make this happen. Inspiration struck!  so i raced to  try it and  yes it was a winner.!  i could see my project really going to work and i could see a few things to add as well.  Excited as  Doctor Frankenstein. SHES ALIVE !   hahaha.   rise i say  rise.  lol with one curl  i am almost there. Not .

i have run my tests on the pattern and i am done, stared a dark angel and  other dolls to come. i guess i should just stick to making things i want in my house, rather than things i may not ever sale. ;(

Lisa christmas angel down load pdf

Not long ago i found this video on you tube, it’s the best way to  make the wings if your having trouble. Just forget the wings i have written out and  follow this video for the wings. Keep in mind this is not my video, and it’s in U.K. terms. So when she says make a Treble/ Triple,  you are making a double crochet in U.S.A. terms.

My wings are made in the same way with a crab st/ reverse crochet over the top of the last row.

I hope this helps some that are having trouble with this pattern. I want to Thank a facebook friend ( Laetitia El Haddad) for  making this pattern in worst weight yarn for the top of her tree 2014. She wrote me directly on facebook. I walked her threw the problems she was having and found this video above to be very helpful  to her  explaining  the wings. She showed me the finished Angel on top of her tree. She is much larger in Worst weight yarn, and looks so Beautiful.

Worst weight Angel made by  Laetitia El Haddad  Front side.

Worst weight Angel made by Laetitia El Haddad
Front side.

Side view

Side view

Back side and wings.

Back side and wings.

So, if all else fails please message me on Facebook you can find me at Shells Yarnicles. i will do my best to help you get this project done, all you need to do is ask.  :)

Happy Hooking, Shell :)

updated 03/16/2015.

